Continental Divide Trail - Ultimate Hiker's Guide

The Continental Divide Trail is a 3,100-mile-long trail that stretches from Mexico to Canada, traversing through some of the most breathtaking landscapes in the United States. As one of the longest and most challenging hiking trails in the country, the Continental Divide Trail offers hikers a unique opportunity to experience the diverse ecosystems and stunning scenery of the Rocky Mountains.

What is the Continental Divide Trail?

The Continental Divide Trail follows the Continental Divide of the Americas, which is the ridge that separates the watersheds that drain into the Pacific Ocean from those that drain into the Atlantic Ocean. Hikers on the trail will encounter a wide range of terrain, from desert valleys to alpine meadows, as they make their way through five states and multiple national parks.

Key Points Along the Trail

Some of the key points along the Continental Divide Trail include South Pass in Wyoming, Wolf Creek Pass in Colorado, the Big Hatchet Mountains in New Mexico, Yellowstone National Park in Wyoming, Elkhart Park in Wyoming, the Wind River Range in Wyoming, and White Rock National Forest in Colorado. Each of these locations offers its own unique challenges and rewards for hikers.

Why Hike the Continental Divide Trail?

Hiking the Continental Divide Trail is a once-in-a-lifetime experience that allows hikers to connect with nature, challenge themselves physically and mentally, and experience the beauty of the American wilderness. Whether you're an experienced thru-hiker or a beginner looking for a new adventure, the Continental Divide Trail offers something for everyone.

With its stunning scenery, diverse ecosystems, and challenging terrain, the Continental Divide Trail is a must-do for any outdoor enthusiast. So lace up your hiking boots, pack your backpack, and get ready to embark on the adventure of a lifetime along the Continental Divide.

Back to blog